Getty Images

Les Miles returning to Death Valley as LSU honors 2007 title team


The Mad Hatter is coming back, although not in the way that many an LSU fan would like.

This year marks the 10th anniversary of LSU’s 2007 national championship team coached by Les Miles.  And, as he indicated earlier in the week, Miles be part of the 70-plus-person contingent who will be at Tiger Stadium to celebrate the school’s title.

That team will be honored on the field at halftime of the Auburn game Saturday afternoon, the school confirmed in a press release Thursday.  In addition to Miles, all five captains from that season — defensive tackle Glenn Dorsey, punter Patrick Fisher, quarterback Matt Flynn, running back Jacob Hester, safety Craig Steltz – will all be in attendance as well.

LSU claimed its third national title in the program’s history thanks to a 38-24 win over Ohio State in the BCS championship game in New Orleans.  Less than 10 years later, Miles was fired a third of the way through the 2016 season after the team struggled to a 2-2 start.

Miles’ replacement, his former defensive line coach Ed Orgeron, has LSU off to a 4-2 start in his first full season in Baton Rouge.

Below is the complete list of players who are expected to take part in this weekend’s festivities:

Charles Alexander (DT)
Rahim Alem (DL)
Matt Allen (OL)
Ryan Anders (PK)
Caleb Angelle (PK)
Will Arnold (OL)
Darry Beckwith (LB)
Will Blackwell (OL)
Jeremy Bunting (WR)
Donnie Chaucer (DB)
Mit Cole (TE)
Jacob Cutrera (LB)
Joey Crappell (SNP)
Andrew Crutchfield (PK)
Brady Dalfrey (P)
Colt Davis (PK)
Andrew Decker (OL)
Richard Dickson (TE)
Ricky Dixon (WR)
Early Doucet (WR)
Glenn Dorsey (DT)
Richard Dugas (C)
Josh Dworaczyk (OL)
Jai Eugene (DB)
Marlon Favorite (DT)
Patrick Fisher (P)
Matt Flynn (QB)
Ace Foyil (LB)
Stefoin Francois (LB)
Sean Gaudet (PK)
Daniel Graff (DB)
Josh Graham (DB)
Orlando Gunn (DB)
Donald Hains (DL)
Andrew Hatch (QB)
T-Bob Hebert (OL)
Trent Hebert (PK)
Brett Helms (OL)
Trey Helms (OL)
Jacob Hester (RB)
Lyle Hitt (OL)
Trindon Holliday (RB/RS)
Tyson Jackson (DE)
Josh Jasper (PK)
Herman Johnson (OL)
Quinn Johnson (FB)
Tremaine Johnson (DL)
Chad Jones (DB)
Mitch Joseph (TE)
Brandon LaFell (WR)
Pep Levingston (DE)
Cole Louviere (OL)
Joe Maltempi (DB)
Josh McManus (WR)
Ryan Miller (OL)
Chris Mitchell (WR)
Chad Moody (DB)
Richard Murphy (RB)
Ryan Perrilloux (QB)
Kirston Pittman (DE)
Stevan Ridley (RB)
Luke Sanders (LB)
Charles Scott (RB)
Robert Smith (OL)
Mark Snyder (OL)
Craig Steltz (S)
Curtis Taylor (S)
Terrance Toliver (WR)
Jimmy Welker (QB)
Keith Zinger (TE)