B.J. Finley

Rimington Trophy finalists include Marcus Mariota’s center


Oregon center Hroniss Grasu is among the six centers named as a finalist for the Rimington Trophy, presented to the nation’s top center in college football. Grasu, who snaps the football to the likely Heisman Trophy winner Marcus Mariota, is the lone finalists now preparing for the College Football Playoff, with Oregon prepping for Florida State in the Rose Bowl, but each finalist will be playing in a bowl game this season.

Joining Grasu on the list of finalists for the Rimington Trophy are Michigan State’s Jack Allen, Georgia’s David Andrews, Auburn’s Reese Dismukes, Kansas State’s B.J. Finley and Boston College’s Andy Gallik. Every player up for the award, besides Michigan State’s Allen, is a senior. Allen is a junior.

The winner of this year’s Rimington Trophy will be announced Thursday night before the Home Depot College Football awards Show in Orlando. The winner is determined by the consensus All-American center pick from three existing All-America teams, which eliminates the need for a voting panel for the award, which is somewhat unique. The three All-America teams used to determine the award winner are compiled by the Walter Camp Foundation, Sporting News and the Football Writers Association of America.

Last year’s Rimington Trophy was awarded to Bryan Stork of Florida State. Whichever player wins this year’s award will be doing so for the first time in his program’s history. The Rimington Trophy was first awarded in 2000.