Chub Hubbard

Photo by Bob Levey/Getty Images

Texas A&M scores 24 straight points in Texas Bowl win over Oklahoma State


After falling behind in the Texas Bowl, Texas A&M (8-5) scored 24 striaght points to knock off Oklahoma State (8-5), 24-21. Oklahoma State had a 14-0 lead in the first quarter, but then the Aggies defense took control.

A&M quarterback Kellen Mond was accurate throwing the football but limited in production (13 of 19 for 95 yards, 1 TD) but he made some big plays on the ground. Mond had 117 rushing yards, including a long 67-yard run to give the Aggies their first lead of the game early in the fourth quarter.

Oklahoma State running back Chuba Hubbard made some school history while rushing for 149 yards in the game. Hubbard became the second player in Oklahoma State history to rush for at least 2,000 yards in a season. He joins the legendary Barry Sanders in the exclusive 2,000-yard mark in school history. Hubbard also made some Big 12 history by becoming the first player to rush for at least 100 yards in a single game 12 different times during a season.

Texas A&M head coach Jimbo Fisher is now 2-0 in bowl games since leaving Florida State for College Station, but the bigger goals are still yet to be achieved by the big money head coach. After going 9-4 in his first season with the Aggies last year with a victory in the Gator Bowl, Texas A&M won one fewer game this season. Texas A&M is clearly a long way from being on the same level as LSU or Alabama, but at least the Aggies will go into another offseason on a winning note with hopes of taking some more steps forward next fall. Texas A&M was a young team overall, so the growth this team makes in the spring could go a long way.

Texas A&M will kick off the 2020 season at home against Abilene Christian on Sept. 5, 2020. Oklahoma State will begin the 2020 season, the 16th under head coach Mike Gundy, with a Thursday night home game against Oregon State on Sept. 3, 2020.

Jonathan Taylor, Chuba Hubbard among semifinalists for Doak Walker Award

Getty Images

Wisconsin running back Jonathan Taylor is attempting to do something that has only been done twice before by winning the Doak Walker Award in back-to-back seasons. Taylor was one of the 10 semifinalists revealed by the Doak Walker Award on Thursday, putting last year’s top running back one step closer to pulling off the rare feat on the college football award circuit.

Taylor will have some stiff competition for the award this season. Among the other semifinalists for the award include Oklahoma State’s Chuba Hubbard, the nation’s rushing leader with 1,726 yards and 20 rushing touchdowns (Taylor has 1,463 yards and 17 rushing touchdowns in the same number of games as Hubbard).

Darren McFadden of Arkansas is the most recent player to win the Doak  Walker Award in back-to-back seasons, doing so in 2006 and 2007. The only other player to win the award in consecutive seasons, and the only other two-time winner of the Doak Walker Award, is Ricky Williams of Texas. Williams won the award in 1997 and 1998. Taylor joined former Wisconsin running backs Melvin Gordon (2014), Montee Ball (2012) and Ron Dayne (1999) to move Wisconsin into first place for most all-time Doak Walker Award winners. Texas also has four awards won, but by three players (Ricky Williams twice, Cedric Benson in 2004 and D’Onta Foreman in 2016).

The other semi-finalists for the Doak Walker Award this year include LeVante Bellamy of Western Michigan (21 touchdowns leads the nation), AJ Dillon of Boston College, JK Dobbins of Ohio State, Clyde Edwards-Helaire of LSU, Travis Etienne of Clemson, Kenneth Gainwell of Memphis, Xavier Jones of SMU, Zack Moss of Utah.