Dan Hicks

Texas’ leading receiver, tackler won’t seek sixth seasons

1 Comment

Two of the most prominent members of the Texas Longhorn football team, one each on the offensive and defensive sides of the ball, had the opportunity to pursue a return to Austin for one more season at the collegiate level.  Neither, though, has decided to take that tack.

Linebacker Jordan Hicks and wide receiver John Harris both confirmed Tuesday that neither will be back with the Longhorns in 2015.  Both players could’ve applied for, and likely received a medical hardship waiver for a sixth season of eligibility.

Hicks had the best case of the two, missing all but three games in 2012 due to a hip/groin injury and all but four games in 2013 because of a torn Achilles.  He had previously received a fifth season of eligibility for the 2012 injury.

Harris missed all but the first three games in 2011 and took a redshirt as a true freshman in 2010.  UT would’ve argued that Harris was forced to redshirt because of injury/health issues.

In 2014, Hicks led the Longhorns in tackles with 138.  Harris, meanwhile, led the Longhorns in receptions (64), receiving yards (1,065) and receiving touchdowns (seven).


Baylor leads the way with nine AP All-Big 12 nods

1 Comment

It’s been a bad a news week for the Big 12 after splitting its championship in ugly fashion, getting shut out of the College Football Playoff, and then passing the blame around the conference like an angry grenade in the news media. So how about some good news for controversy’s favorite conference?

The AP released its 2014 All-Big 12 team on Monday, and One True Champion Baylor leads the way with nine selections, but One True Champion TCU managed to snag both offensive and defensive player of the year honors. The Frogs Oklahoma boasted with seven picks apiece, and Kansas State followed with six.

Oh, and Kansas had as many selections as Texas, and more than Oklahoma State and Texas Tech combined.

Here’s how it broke down:

Offensive Player of the Year: Trevone Boykin, TCU

Defensive Player of the Year: Paul Dawson, TCU

Offensive Newcomer of the Year: Samaje Perine, Oklahoma

Defensive Newcomer of the Year: Taylor Young, Baylor

Offense – First Team

QB Trevone Boykin, TCU

RB Samaje Perine, Oklahoma

WR Corey Coleman, Baylor

WR Tyler Lockett, Kansas State

WR Kevin White, West Virginia

TE E.J. Bibbs, Iowa State

C B.J. Finney, Kansas State

OL Le’Raven Clark, Texas Tech

OL Spencer Drango, Baylor

OL Mark Glowinski, West Virginia

OL Daryl Williams, Oklahoma

PK Josh Lambert, West Virginia

AP Tyreek Hill, Oklahoma State

Defense – First Team

LB Paul Dawson, TCU

LB Ben Heeney, Kansas

LB Pete Robertson, Texas Tech

LB Eric Striker, Oklahoma

DB Sam Carter, TCU

DB Zack Sanchez, Oklahoma

DB Chris Hackett, TCU

DB Orion Stewart, Baylor

DL Andrew Billings, Baylor

DL Malcom Brown, Texas

DL Shawn Oakman, Baylor

DL Emmanuel Ogbah, Oklahoma State

P Trevor Pardula, Kansas

Offense – Second Team

QB Bryce Petty, Baylor

RB Shock Linwood, Baylor

WR John Harris, Texas

WR Curry Sexton, Kansas State

WR Sterling Shepard, Oklahoma

TE Jimmay Mundine, Kansas

C Joey Hunt, TCU

OL Tayo Fabuluje, TCU

OL Quinton Spain, West Virginia

OL Tyrus Thompson, Oklahoma

OL Cody Whitehair, Kansas State

PK Jaden Oberkrom, TCU

AP Tyler Lockett, Kansas State

Defense – Second Team

LB Dominique Alexander, Oklahoma

LB Bryce Hager, Baylor

LB Jordan Hicks, Texas

LB Jonathan Truman, Kansas State

DB Quandre Diggs, Texas

DB Karl Joseph, West Virginia

DB JaCorey Shepherd, Kansas

DB Nigel Tribune, Iowa State

DL Chucky Hunter, TCU

DL Ryan Mueller, Kansas State

DL Jordan Phillips, Oklahoma

DL Cedric Reed, Texas

P Spencer Roth, Baylor

Bednarik, Maxwell Award semifinalists announced


The Maxwell Club announced 20 semifinalists for the Maxwell Award (nation’s top player) and Bednarik Award (nation’s top defensive player) on Monday.

The Maxwell breakdown: 12 QBs, 6 RBs, 2 WRs. Bednarik: 8 DEs, 6 LBs, 3 CBs, 2 S, 1 DT. By conference, between the two lists:

SEC: 9
Pac-12: 9
Big Ten: 7
Big 12: 6
ACC: 6
Notre Dame: 2
C-USA: 1


Ameer Abdullah, Sr. Nebraska RB
Javorius Allen, Sr. USC RB
Trevone Boykin, Jr. TCU QB
Rakeem Cato, Sr. Marshall QB
Tevin Coleman, Jr. Indiana RB
James Conner, Soph. Pitt RB
Connor Cook, Jr. Michigan State QB
Amari Cooper, Jr. Alabama WR
Everett Golson, Sr. Notre Dame QB
Melvin Gordon, Jr. Wisconsin RB
Brett Hundley, Jr. UCLA QB
Duke Johnson, Jr. Miami (Fla.) RB
Marcus Mariota, Jr. Oregon QB
Nick Marshall, Sr. Auburn QB
Bryce Petty, Sr. Baylor QB
Dak Prescott, Jr. Mississippi State QB
Bo Wallace, Sr. Ole Miss QB
Jake Waters, Sr. Kansas State QB
Kevin White, Sr. West Virginia WR
Jameis Winston, Soph. Florida State QB


Vic Beasley, Sr. Clemson DE
Joey Bosa, Soph. Ohio State DE
Shilique Calhoun, Jr. Michigan State DE
Landon Collins, Jr. Alabama S
Ifo Ekpre-Olomu, Sr. Oregon CB
Senquez Golson, Sr. Ole Miss CB
Randy Gregory, Jr. Nebraska DE
Vernon Hargreaves III, Soph. Florida CB
Jordan Hicks, Sr. Texas LB
Gerod Holliman, Soph. Louisville S
Hau’oli Kikaha, Sr. Washington LB
Benardrick McKinney, Jr. Mississippi State LB
Shawn Oakman, Jr. Baylor DE
Nate Orchard, Sr. Utah DE
Denzel Perryman, Sr. Miami (Fla.) LB
Shane Ray, Jr. Mizzou DE
Danny Sheldon, Sr. Washington DT
Jaylon Smith, Soph. Notre Dame LB
Leonard Williams, Jr. USC DE
Scooby Wright III, Soph. Arizona LB

Tuesday offseason one-liners


Some links from around college football on a Tuesday…