Dres Anderson

Utes lose top WR to season-ending knee injury


As Utah continues its march toward what most would consider an improbable Pac-12 South title, the Utes will have to do so without one of its top threats in the passing game.

Wednesday morning, the Utes announced that Dres Anderson, after undergoing a medical evaluation, had sustained a season-ending knee injury.  When and how the injury occurred wasn’t detailed by the school.

Anderson is a fifth-year senior who’s already used his redshirt year.  Because of that and the fact that he played in seven games this season, his collegiate career is over as he will not be eligible for a sixth season.

This season, Anderson leads the Utes with 355 receiving yards, 16.1 yards per catch and four receiving touchdowns.  His 22 receptions are second on the team.

Anderson will finish his career fifth in school history with 2,077 yards receiving.

UPDATED 1:59 p.m. ET: According to a school official, Anderson sustained the injury in the fourth quarter of last Saturday’s win over USC but remained in the game.

Utah pushing No. 8 UCLA around, leads 17-7 at the half


The joy of seeing No. 16 USC lose to Arizona State on a Hail Mary may be short-lived for UCLA, as the No. 8 Bruins trail Utah 17-7 at the half.

Utah built a 14-0 lead on the strength of a 27-yard pick six by Tevin Carter and a 42-yard touchdown catch by Dres Anderson in between two Bruin defenders.

Travis Wilson started the game for Utah but was pulled after the first quarter as he completed 2-of-5 passes for five yards in the opening frame. Transfer Kendal Thompson replaced him and lit a fuse under the Utes’ attack, hitting all seven of his throws for 68 yards and the score to Anderson. He’s also rushed eight times for 31 yards, while Devontae Booker has toted the rock 15 times for 67 yards.

Paul Perkins responded to the Anderson circus catch with a four-yard touchdown run with 10:28 to play in the half. He’s been a bright spot for the Bruins, producing 87 yards on 15 carries.

UCLA has had major problems protecting Brett Hundley, sacked five times already by Utah’s swarming defense.

He’s completed 8-of-11 passes for 82 yards with the interception. Factor in interception yardage, and the Bruins are getting five yards per pass to go with 2.9 yards per rush.

UCLA gets the ball to open the second half.

55 receivers named to Biletnikoff watch list


At this point, 55 names seems like a somewhat reasonable number for a watch list. It’s actually fewer than the number of players on the Rimington watch list, which goes to the nation’s top center — and, of course, teams only have one center per roster as opposed to three or four starting wide receivers.

The preseason Biletnikoff watch list:

Nelson Agholor University of Southern California Jr.
Dres Anderson University of Utah Sr.
Kenny Bell University of Nebraska Sr.
Tyler Boyd University of Pittsburgh So.
Da’Ron Brown Northern Illinois University Sr.
Rashon Ceaser University of Louisiana at Monroe Jr.
Sammie Coates Auburn University Jr.
Amari Cooper University of Alabama Sr.
Jamison Crowder Duke University Sr.
Titus Davis Central Michigan University Sr.
Geremy Davis University of Connecticut Sr.
Devante Davis University of Nevada, Las Vegas Sr.
Quinshad Davis University of North Carolina Jr.
Corey Davis Western Michigan University So.
Stefon Diggs University of Maryland Jr.
Devin Funchess University of Michigan Jr.
Antwan Goodley Baylor University Sr.
Jakeem Grant Texas Tech University Jr.
Deontay Greenberry University of Houston Jr.
Rashad Greene Florida State University Sr.
Rannell Hall University of Central Florida Sr.
Justin Hardy East Carolina University Sr.
Josh Harper California State University, Fresno Sr.
Chris Harper University of California Jr.
Nick Harwell University of Kansas Sr.
Rashard Higgins Colorado State University So.
Austin Hill University of Arizona Sr.
Christian Jones Northwestern University Sr.
Darius Joseph Southern Methodist University Jr.
Jameon Lewis Mississippi State University Sr.
Tyler Lockett Kansas State University Sr.
Matt Miller Boise State University Sr.
Ty Montgomery Stanford University Sr.
Richard Mullaney Oregon State University Jr.
Jamarcus Nelson University of Alabama at Birmingham Sr.
Levi Norwood Baylor University Sr.
DeVante Parker University of Louisville Sr.
Breshad Perriman University of Central Florida Jr.
Jamal Robinson University of Louisiana at Lafayette Sr.
Ezell Ruffin San Diego State University Sr.
Dominic Rufran University of Wyoming Sr.
Wes Saxton University of South Alabama Jr.
Jaxon Shipley University of Texas Sr.
Tommy Shuler Marshall University Sr.
Devin Smith Ohio State University Jr.
Shavarez Smith University of South Alabama Jr.
Daniel Spencer University of Houston Sr.
Jaelen Strong Arizona State University Jr.
Jordan Taylor Rice University Sr.
Laquon Treadwell University of Mississippi So.
Richy Turner University of Nevada  Sr.
Shaq Washington University of Cincinnati Sr.
Jordan Williams Ball State University Jr.
Tyler Winston San Jose State University So.
Shane Wynn Indiana University Sr.


Obviously, these are all talented players to make this watch list, but a wild guess at the three guys who ultimately are finalists for the award: Amari Cooper, Deontay Greenberry and Antwan Goodley.

Maxwell Award watch list highlighted by Winston, Petty, Mariota

1 Comment

The watch list for the Maxwell Award, presented by the Maxwell Football Club, has been released and it includes many of the top offensive players in the country.

Florida State quarterback Jameis Winston was an obvious name to include on the watch list. He is the lone returning 2013 Maxwell Award finalist this season and is the reigning Heisman Trophy winner. Other 2013 semifinalists appearing on the list include Wisconsin running back Melvin Gordon, Oregon State quarterback Sean Mannion, Oregon quarterback Marcus Mariota and Baylor quarterback Bryce Petty.

Semifinalists for the Maxwell Award will be announced November 3, 2014. From that group, three finalists will be announced November 24, and the winner of the 2014 Maxwell Award will be announced December 11 during the annual Home Depot College Football Awards Show. The formal presentation of the award will take place during an annual banquet in Atlantic City, New Jersey on March 6, 2015.

The Maxwell Award has been presented to the top college football player in the country as determined by the Maxwell Football Club on an annual basis since 1937. The winner is not always the same player to win the Heisman Trophy. Where the Heisman Trophy has seen a share of underclassmen win the award over recent years, the Maxwell Award has a knack for going to upperclassmen. Last year’s winner was Alabama quarterback A.J. McCarron. Penn State and Notre Dame are tied for the most Maxwell Award winners with seven each. Ohio State, Texas and Navy each have four.

Here is the 2014 Maxwell Award watch list:


The Paul Hornung Award watch list was also released today.