Jachai Polite

Photo by Donald Page/Getty Images

Florida DL Jachai Polite declares for the NFL

1 Comment

Florida defensive lineman Jachai Polite has played his last game in a Gators uniform. The junior lineman announced, via Twitter, he is leaving Gainesville for a shot at the NFL.

Polite recorded 45 tackles this season with 17.5 tackles for a loss and 11.0 sacks, both leading Florida this past season. On top of that, Polite was known to force fumbles, as he entered the Peach Bowl leading the nation in forced fumbles. He forced his nation-leading sixth fumble against the Wolverines in Florida’s dominant victory on Saturday.

Polite, a First-Team All-SEC selection this season, will join a pretty healthy stable of draft-eligible defensive linemen for NFL teams to be scouting and considering in the spring.

Kyler Murray leads AP All-American team; Tagovailoa named to second team


Associated Press Player of the Year and Heisman Trophy winner Kyler Murray of Oklahoma was named First-Team All-American by the AP on Monday. Murray was one of 10 players from a College Football Playoff team named an All-American player by the AP, including Alabama quarterback Tua Tagovailoa and wide receiver Jerry Jeudy and defensive tackle Quinnen Williams, Clemson defensive linemen Clelin Ferrell and Christian Wilkins, and Notre Dame cornerback Julian Love.

Alabama led all teams with six players named to either the first, second or third team All-American rosters by the AP, four of which being named to the first team to also lead all schools. Clemson and Oklahoma each landed four All-Americans and Oklahoma had two players named to an All-American team by the AP.

Below is the full list of first, second and third All-American teams released by the AP for the 2018 season:



Quarterback β€” Kyler Murray, junior, Oklahoma

Running backs β€” Jonathan Taylor, sophomore, Wisconsin; Darrell Henderson, junior, Memphis

Tackles β€” Jonah Williams, junior, Alabama; Mitch Hyatt, senior, Clemson

Guards β€” Beau Benzschawel, senior, Wisconsin; Bunchy Stallings, senior, Kentucky

Center β€” Garrett Bradbury, senior, North Carolina State

Tight end β€” Jace Sternberger, junior, Texas A&M

Wide receivers β€” Jerry Jeudy, sophomore, Alabama; Marquise Brown, junior, Oklahoma

All-purpose player β€” Rondale Moore, freshman, Purdue

Kicker β€” Andre Szmyt, freshman, Syracuse


Ends β€” Clelin Ferrell, junior, Clemson; Sutton Smith, junior, Northern Illinois

Tackles β€” Quinnen Williams, junior, Alabama; Christian Wilkins, senior, Clemson

Linebackers β€” Josh Allen, senior, Kentucky; Devin White, junior, LSU; Ben Burr-Kirven, senior, Washington

Cornerbacks β€” Deandre Baker, senior, Georgia; Julian Love, junior, Notre Dame

Safeties β€” Grant Delpit, sophomore, LSU; Deionte Thompson, junior, Alabama

Punter β€” Braden Mann, junior, Texas A&M



Quarterback β€” Tua Tagovailoa, sophomore, Alabama

Running backs β€” Travis Etienne, sophomore, Clemson; Trayveon Williams, junior, Texas A&M

Tackles β€” Dalton Risner, senior, Kansas State; Andrew Thomas, sophomore, Georgia

Guards β€” Dru Samia, senior, Oklahoma; Michael Dieter, senior, Wisconsin

Center β€” Ross Pierschbacher, senior, Alabama

Tight end β€” T.J, Hockenson, sophomore, Iowa

Wide receivers β€” Tylan Wallace, sophomore, Oklahoma State; Andy Isabella, senior, Massachusetts

All-purpose player β€” Greg Dortch, sophomore, Wake Forest

Kicker β€” Cole Tracy, senior, LSU


Ends β€” Montez Sweat, senior, Mississippi State; Jachai Polite, junior, Florida

Tackles β€” Jerry Tillery, senior, Notre Dame; Gerald Willis III, senior, Miami

Linebackers β€” Devin Bush, junior, Michigan; David Long Jr., junior, West Virginia; Joe Dineen, senior, Kansas

Cornerbacks β€” Greedy Williams, sophomore, LSU; Byron Murphy, sophomore, Washington

Safeties β€” Taylor Rapp, junior, Washington; Amani Hooker, junior, Iowa

Punter β€” Mitch Wishnowsky, senior, Utah



Quarterbacks β€” Dwayne Haskins, sophomore, Ohio State

Running backs β€” Benny Snell, junior, Kentucky; Eno Benjamin, sophomore, Arizona State

Tackles β€” Andre Dillard, senior, Washington State; Cody Ford, junior, Oklahoma

Guards β€” Terrone Prescod, senior, North Carolina State; Chris Lindstrom, senior, Boston College

Center β€” Michael Jordan, junior, Ohio State

Tight end β€” Noah Fant, junior, Iowa

Wide Receivers β€” A.J. Brown, junior, Mississippi; David Sills V, senior, West Virginia

All-purpose player β€” J.J. Taylor, sophomore, Arizona

Kicker β€” Matt Gay, senior, Utah


Ends β€” Chase Winovich, senior, Michigan; Jaylon Ferguson, senior, Louisiana Tech

Tackles β€” Jeffery Simmons, junior, Mississippi State; Ed Oliver, junior, Houston

Linebackers β€” Paddy Fisher, sophomore, Northwestern; David Woodward, sophomore, Utah State; Te’Von Coney, senior, Notre Dame

Cornerbacks β€” Hamp Cheevers, junior, Boston College; Lavert Hill, junior, Michigan

Safeties β€” Andre Cisco, freshman, Syracuse; Jonathan Abram, senior, Mississippi State

Punter β€” Jason Smith, sophomore, Cincinnati