Jordan Fuller

Photo by Will Newton/Getty Images

Jordan Fuller announces return to Ohio State in 2019

Leave a comment

With a flurry of players around the country making their decisions to leave college football early in pursuit of an NFL dream, Ohio State received some encouraging news Thursday from safety Jordan Fuller. He’s coming back for another season in the scarlet and gray.

“The special privilege of wearing the scarlet and grey is something I’m not ready to give up yet,” Fuller said in a message share don his Twitter account on Thursday afternoon. “We have a brotherhood that’s stronger than ever. We are coming for everything they said we couldn’t have.”

The New Jersey native has been one of the top defensive players on the Ohio State defense the past couple of seasons, earning Third-team All-Big Ten recognition in 2017 and honorable mention in 2018. This past season, which ended with a Big Ten championship and a victory in the Rose Bowl, Fuller led the Buckeyes with 81 tackles (tied with Malik Harrison) and a team-high 61 tackles. Fuller also picked off a pass and recorded 2.5 tackles for a loss.

Jim Thorpe Award watch list recognizes 35 top defensive backs

Photo by Harry How/Getty Images
Leave a comment

Alongside the release of the Butkus Award watch list on Monday came the watch list for the Jim Thorpe Award. On it appeared 35 names deemed to be the nation’s top defensive backs in the nation with players from 11 conferences.

The ACC, Big Ten, Conference USA, Pac-12, and SEC each had four players named to the initial watch list, which can have players added to it as the season progresses. The AAC, Big 12, Mountain West Conference, and Sun Belt each had three players named, and the MAC had two more players mentioned.

Last year’s winner of the Jim Thorpe Award was Minkah Fitzpatrick of Alabama.

2018 Jim Thorpe Award Watch List

Dravon Askew-Henry, West Virginia
DeAndre Baker, Georgia
Kris Boyd, Texas
Blace Brown, Troy
Kyron Brown, Akron
T.J. Carter, Memphis
Justin Clifton, Arkansas State
Lukas Denis, Boston College
D’Cota Dixon, Wisconsin
David Dowell, Michigan State
Clifton Duck, Appalachian State
Mike Edwards, Kentucky
Jordan Fuller, Ohio State
Kyle Gibson, UCF
Mark Gilbert, Duke
Malik Grant, Marshall
Lavert Hill, Michigan
Javon Hagan, Ohio
Tyler Horton, Boise State
Michael Jackson, Miami
Jah’Shawn Johnson, Texas Tech
Jaquan Johnson, Miami
Shelton Lewis, Florida Atlantic
Julian Love, Notre Dame
Iman Marshall, USC
Byron Murphy, Washington
Kekoa Nawahine, Boise State
Delvon Randall, Temple
Taylor Rapp, Washington
J.R. Reed, Georgia
Amik Robertson, Louisiana Tech
Marvell Tell III, USC
Greedy Williams, LSU
Andrew Wingard, Wyoming
Jalen Young, Florida Atlantic