Nathan Rourke

Photo by Loren Orr/Getty Images

Ohio wins third consecutive bowl game with Potato Bowl victory against Nevada

Leave a comment

Ohio (7-6) let a big lead slip away in the fourth quarter but the Bobcats still held on to beat Nevada (7-6) in the Famous Idaho Potato Bowl on Friday. Ohio defeated the Wolfpack 30-21 for its third consecutive season-ending in a bowl victory.

Ohio quarterback Nathan Rourke passed for 144 yards and rushed for 87 yards and a touchdown in the win. Demontre Tuggle led all players with 97 rushing yards and a touchdown for the Bobcats. Ohio carried a 30-9 lead into the fourth quarter, which is when Nevada put some pressure on the scoreboard. A lost fumble and a turnover on downs inside the Ohio 10-yard line ultimately prevented Nevada’s comeback attempt from crossing the finish line. Nevada quarterback Carson Strong passed for 402 yards and a touchdown in the losing effort.

Ohio head coach Frank Solich now owns five bowl wins with Ohio (5-6 overall). Solich also coached Ohio to a winning record for the fifth consecutive season, and the 11th consecutive non-losing season (Ohio was 6-6 in 2014).

The win by Ohio gives the MAC a chance to have a winning bowl record this year. The MAC is now 3-3 in bowl games played this season with one more to go. Miami Ohio will look to end the bowl season in a winning note for the MAC in the Lendingtree Bowl against Louisiana on Monday, Jan. 6. The MAC went 2-1 against the Mountain West Conference this bowl season. Despite Nevada’s loss, the Mountian West already clinched a winning bowl season. Nevada was the last bowl team to represent the Mountain West this bowl season; the Mountain West was 4-3 in bowl games this season.

Ohio will open the 2020 season at home against NC Central on Sept. 5. Nevada will get an earlier start to their 2020 season with a home game against UC Davis on Aug. 29.

Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award watch list includes 2018 finalist Shea Patterson, Jalen Hurts, Justin Herbert

Photo by Joe Robbins/Getty Images

And now for a quarterback award watch list that won’t include a certain starting quarterback form Clemson or Alabama. The Johnny Unitas Foundation has released the watch list for the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award, presented annually to college football’s top senior or fourth-year quarterback. This year’s watch list includes some recognizable names such as Oklahoma’s Jalen Hurts and Oregon’s Justin Herbert.

Former Washington State quarterback Gardner Minshew was named the winner of the award in 2018. Just one finalist for the 2018 award is on the watch list this season. Michigan’s Shea Patterson is that player (UCF’s McKenzie Milton was a finalist last year but is not expected to play this season despite still being at UCF as he recovers from his season-ending injury from late in 2018).

Other past winners include Deshaun Watson (2016), Marcus Mariota (2014), Andrew Luck (2011), Matt Ryan (2007), Eli Manning (2003), Carson Palmer (2002) and Peyton Manning (1997).

2019 Golden Arm Award Watch List Presented by A. O. Smith

  • Jack Abraham, Southern Mississippi
  • Blake Barnett, University of South Florida
  • Woody Barrett, Kent State
  • Jake Bentley, University of South Carolina
  • Anthony Brown, Boston College
  • Kelly Bryant, Missouri
  • Joe Burrow, LSU
  • Stephen Buckshot Calvert, Liberty
  • Marcus Childers, Northern Illinois
  • K.J. Costello, Stanford Unversity
  • Jacob Eason, Washington University
  • Caleb Evans, University of Louisiana Monroe
  • Mason Fine, North Texas
  • Feleipe Franks, University of Florida
  • Mitchell Guadagni, Toledo
  • Jarrett Guarantano, University of Tennessee
  • Gage Gubrud, Washington State University
  • Quentin Harris, Duke University
  • Justin Herbert, University of Oregon
  • Kelvin Hopkins, Jr., Army
  • Tyler Huntley, University of Utah
  • Jalen Hurts, University of Oklahoma
  • Josh Jackson, University of Maryland
  • D’Eriq King, Houston
  • Brian Lewerke, Michigan State University
  • Jordan Love, Utah State University
  • Jake Luton, Oregon State University
  • Cole McDonald, University of Hawaii
  • Justin McMillan, Tulane
  • Steven Montez, University of Colorado
  • James Morgan, FIU
  • Riley Neal, Vanderbilt University
  • Kato Nelson, Akron
  • Shea Patterson, University of Michigan
  • Bryce Perkins, University of Virginia
  • Malcolm Perry, Navy
  • Peyton Ramsey, Indiana University
  • Armani Rogers, UNLV
  • Nathan Rourke, Ohio
  • Anthony Russo, Temple University
  • J’Mar Smith, Louisiana Tech
  • Nate Stanley, University of Iowa
  • Dillon Sterling-Cole, Arizona State University
  • Khalil Tate, University of Arizona
  • Zac Thomas, Appalachian State University
  • Skylar Thompson, Kansas State
  • Brady White, University of Memphis
  • Ryan Willis, Virginia Tech
  • Brandon Wimbush, University of Central Florida