Patrick Peterson

Robert B. Stanton/WireImage

SEC, Cal, Pitt lead the way on NFL’s All-Decade Team for 2010s

Leave a comment

Which conference has produced the best NFL talent over the past decade? Perhaps not too surprisingly, it has been the SEC. A total of 12 SEC players were named to the Pro Football Hall of Fame’s All-Decade Team of the 2010s. The SEC had one more player than the next best-represented conference, the ACC.

LSU and Wisconsin each had two players named to the NFL All-Decade team, with both Badgers representatives — defensive end J.J. Watt and offensive tackle Joe Thomas — being among the eight unanimous selections. LSU is represented by Patrick Peterson and Tyrann Mathieu.

The schools that were most represented were California and Pittsburgh. Former Cal players on the team include Aaron Rodgers, Marshawn Lynch, Alex Mack, and Cameron Jordan. Cal made up nearly half of the count for the Pac-12 (9 total players). Pitt’s four players — Aaron Donald, Larry Fitzgerald, Darrelle Revis, and LeSean McCoy — helped boost the ACC’s total as well.

To keep things simple, this count is based entirely on what conference schools reside right now. A number of players in the NFL may have played in a different conference than where their alma mater currently sits. Rather than go through and break down the list to include the old Big East, all players were counted under their school’s current conference affiliation. Two Division 2 conferences were represented in the count (Bloomsburg’s Jahri Evans for the PSAC and West Alabama’s Tyreek Hill for the Gulf South).

  • SEC – 12
  • ACC – 11
  • Pac-12 – 9
  • Big 12 – 6
  • Big Ten – 5
  • MAC – 3
  • American – 2
  • MWC – 2
  • Independents – 1
  • PSAC (D2) – 1
  • Gulf South (D2) – 1

Former Michigan quarterback Tom Brady joined some rare company by being named to his second all-decade team.

Patrick Peterson recalls blown call in 2009 LSU-Alabama game in reacting to Pacquiao’s loss

Photo by Kevin C. Cox/Getty Images

As he watched Many Pacquiao come up on the questionable end of the judges’ scoring in a title bout Saturday night, former LSU defensive standout Patrick Peterson was among the many from around the sports world sounding off on Twitter about the blown call. In doing so, Peterson dug up some dirt from the past about a time he felt he was on the wrong end of a poor moment in sports officiating.

That moment Peterson is recalling took place in 2009, with No. 9 LSU looking to pull an upset of No. 3 Alabama. With about six minutes to play in the fourth quarter in Tuscaloosa, Alabama quarterback Greg McElroy appeared to be picked off by Peterson with an incredible effort to keep not one, but two feet in play with possession of the football. The play was called an incomplete pass.

Judge for yourself.

Alabama retained possession of the football and McElroy completed a 10-yard pass to Julio Jones on the following play to keep a drive moving down the field. A few plays later, Alabama tacked on a field goal to take a 24-15 lead with just over three minutes to play. LSU quarterback Jarrett Lee was picked off on LSU’s next offensive possession and Alabama held on for the win. The Crimson Tide clinched a spot in the SEC Championship Game and went on to win the BCS national championship that season, the first under Nick Saban.

LSU dropped a game a few weeks later against Ole Miss and went on to lose in the Capital One Bowl on one of the worst playing surfaces in bowl history, against Penn State.

Who knows where the history of college football would have gone had the officials made the correct call on that interception?