Siaosi Aiono

Accused of stealing signs, Mike Leach thinks Pac-12 should investigate Arizona State


There seems to be an unwritten rule in sports that suggests stealing signs is a no-no. Generally, this topic is tends to be more common in the world of baseball but it has started to become a bit more of an issue in college football in recent years. Arizona State has become a target of accusations of sign-stealing and Washington State head coach Mike Leach thinks the Pac-12 should step in and investigate the situation.

“They probably ought to do an investigation on them,” Leach said this week. Washington State hosts Arizona State on Saturday. “You’ve got two-straight schools with a concern for it back-to-back. The conference probably ought to investigate it.”

Leach was referring to Arizona State’s two most recent opponents, Utah and Oregon. Utah center Siaosi Aiono said Arizona State had figured out Utah’s play signals the previous season, which led the Utes to working more out of the huddle in practices leading up to this season’s game, which Utah won at home. Utah went to the huddle for the majority of the fourth quarter in the win, which just so happens to be when Arizona State stopped being able to slow down the Utes. Last week, Oregon brought large sheets to help shield their calls from the sideline from wandering eyes of Arizona State. Ducks offensive coordinator Scott Frost said he had never come across a team as diligent in trying to steal signs as Arizona State was.

Here’s the thing. A coaching staff and players are entitled to do anything and everything they can within the rules to gain an edge in a game. There are no rules against stealing signs. If a team just so happens to be able to crack your codes, then that is on you to go to Plan B. If you don’t have a Plan B or Plan C lined up, that’s also on you.

52 college football centers named to Rimington Trophy watch list


If your college football team has a center, there is a decent chance he has been named to the Rimington Trophy watch list, released Tuesday morning. Of the 128 teams in FBS and roughly 41 percent of those teams are represented on the Rimington Trophy watch list. Fortunately, this is reduced from the 64 names that appeared on the 2014 watch list.

The award for best center in college football has been presented by the Boomer Esiason Foundation since 2000. Auburn’s Reese Dismukes was handed the trophy last season. Michigan is the only school with multiple Rimington Trophy winners, although the Wolverines do not have a player on this watch list. This year’s Rimington Trophy winner will be recognized on January 16, 2016.


2015 Rimington Trophy Watch List

Siaosi Aiono, Utah

Jack Allen, Michigan State

Nick Beamish, Central Michigan

Dalton Bennett, Troy

Austin Blythe, Iowa

Deyshawn Bond, Cincinnati

Bo Bonnheim, Fresno State

Evan Boehm, Missouri

Jacoby Boren, Ohio State

Jake Brendel, UCLA

Freddie Burden, Georgia Tech

Josh Chester, Middle Tennessee

Lucas Crowley, North Carolina

Ryan Crozier, UConn

Ty Darlington, Oklahoma

Taylor Doyle, Texas

Kyle Friend, Temple

Kyle Fuller, Baylor

Max Halpin, Western Kentucky

Matt Hugenberg, Army

Joey Hunt, TCU

Jake Hurcombe, Eastern Michigan

Jared Kaster, Texas Tech

Nick Kelly, Arizona State

Ryan Kelly, Alabama

Alex Kelley, Colorado

Kayden Kirby, North Texas

Alan Knott, South Carolina

Robert Kugler, Purdue

Gabe Kuhn, Memphis

Taylor Lasecki, SMU

Eric Lee, UTEP

Nick Martin, Notre Dame

Mike Matthews, Texas A&M

Tim McAullife, Bowling Green

Josh Mitchell, Oregon State

Andrew Ness, Northern Illinois

Ryan Norton, Clemson

Alex Officer, Pittsburgh

Tyler Orlosky, West Virginia

Ethan Pocic, LSU

Spencer Pulley, Vanderbilt

Jacob Richard, Ball State

Michael Selby, Marshall

Graham Shuler, Stanford

Mitch Smothers, Arkansas

Matt Sparks, UMass

Austin Stephens, Utah State

Jon Toth, Kentucky

Max Tuerk, USC

Dan Voltz, Wisconsin

Kirby Wixson, Louisiana Tech