Trey Burton

Jameis Winston sets FSU passing record in first half vs Gators


Florida started playing with some inspired defense against the heavily favored rivals from Florida State, but as the first half played out it was all Seminoles. Florida State quarterback Jameis Winston completed two touchdown passes in the second quarter to push their narrow 3-0 lead to a much more comfortable 17-0 lead at the half.

Winston broke a school record for most touchdown passes in a single season with his first touchdown pass to Kelvin Benjamin from 45 yards. His second touchdown pass in the final minute of the half to Benjamin set the new single season passing record with 34 touchdowns this season. The mark of 33 touchdowns was previously held by Chris Weinke in 2000, a season that saw Weinke win the Heisman Trophy.

Winston has completed 13 of 20 passes for 208 yards and one interception despite getting off to a slow start against a Florida defense that was playing very well out of the gate. As has been the story for much of the season for the Gators, the non-existent offense has been a huge problem. Florida State held the Gators to just 104 yards of offense in the first half. Florida quarterback Skyler Mornhinweg has completed 9 of 12 passes for 47 yards and Trey Burton leads the ground game with 47 yards , but that includes a 50-yard run early in the game.

Paul Hornung preseason watch list released


Just another sign that the 2013 college football season is edging ever so closer.

The Paul Hornung preseason watch list was released today with 44 candidates spanning all 10 conferences in major college football. The award is given annually to the most versatile player in major college football. Last season’s winner was West Virginia’s Tavon Austin.

Three finalists from last season made this year’s watch list: Antonio Andrews (Western Kentucky), Dri Archer (Kent State) and Marqise Lee (USC). As far as conference representation goes, the SEC leads all with nine players followed by the ACC with six players. There are five players from both the Big Ten and Big 12.

Below is this year’s watch list, though being named to the watch list is not a necessity for being named the winner. The award itself will be handed out in late January, 2014 after the season.

Jared Abbrederis, Wisconsin
Ameer Abdullah, Nebraska
Antonio Andrews, WKU
Dri Archer, Kent State
D.J. Banks, Louisiana Tech
Odell Beckham Jr., LSU
Corey Brown, Ohio State
Isaiah Burse, Fresno State
Trey Burton, Florida
Michael Campanaro, Wake Forest
Brandon Carter, TCU
Chris Coyer, Temple
Quandre Diggs, Texas
Stefon Diggs, Maryland
Bruce Ellington, South Carolina
Tyler Ervin, San Jose State
Cody Fajardo, Nevada
JD Falslev, BYU
D.J. Foster, Arizona State
Jerry “BooBoo” Gates, Bowling Green
Justin Gilbert, Oklahoma State
Jamal Golden, Georgia Tech
Scott Harding, Hawaii
Akeem Hunt, Purdue
Kyshoen Jarrett, Virginia Tech
Duke Johnson, Miami (FLA)
Christion Jones, Alabama
Marqise Lee, Southern California
Tommylee Lewis, Northern Illinois
Tyler Lockett, Kansas State
Jordan Lynch, Northern Illinois
Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M
Venric Mark, Northwestern
Malcolm Mitchell, Georgia
Marcus Murphy, Missouri
LaDarius Perkins, Mississippi State
Loucheiz Purifoy, Florida
Bernard Reedy, Toledo
Jamill Smith, Ball State
Damien Thigpen, UCLA
De’Anthony Thomas, Oregon
Tramaine Thompson, Kansas State
Sammy Watkins, Clemson
Trey Watts, Tulsa