Getty Images

FIU kicker who taunted Miami after beating the Hurricanes is now joining the team

Leave a comment

If you can beat them… join them? That may not be how the old saying goes but they are words to live by for one player.

Confirming reports that surfaced earlier in the week, FIU kicker Jose Borregales announced he was graduate transferring across town to join the Miami Hurricanes.

While a kicker changing programs in the same city is usually not huge news, Hurricanes fans may well raise an eyebrow or two at the move given recent history. You may remember Borregales’ name for his role in the Panthers upset in late November at the site of the old Orange Bowl. He hit a trio of kicks against the ‘Canes, including one from 53 yards, in the win and memorably celebrated a fourth quarter extra point by, well, taunting the team he just joined:

His future ‘Canes teammates might overlook such antics however given that Borregales should reinforce one of the team’s key weaknesses. FIU’s career leader in points scored, he should boost a kicking game that used three different players yet went just 12 for 20 (60 percent) this past season.

Borregales, meanwhile, booted 21 of his 29 attempts through the uprights and is immediately eligible for 2020. Thankfully for fans of The U, the excitable kicker can now celebrate his big field goals to help Miami win instead of causing the opposite result on the scoreboard.

Conference USA releases 2020 football schedule

Getty Images
Leave a comment

The calendar reads 2020 and now Conference USA is ready to start filling in dates this fall for the upcoming football campaign.

In a release issued on Wednesday, the league announced dates and opponents for their 2020 football schedule. You can find team-by-team schedules here or the overall composite week-by-week schedule here.

CUSA will once again play eight conference games and will essentially see the league slate from last season flip venues from home to road. The divisional alignment is set to remain the same, with 14 teams split evenly across an East and West Division.

There will be plenty of new faces for the upcoming campaign in the conference, including at reigning champion Florida Atlantic after Lane Kiffin’s departure to Ole Miss and the hiring of former Florida State head coach Willie TaggartJeff Traylor also takes over at UTSA and Ricky Rahne will be the new head coach at Old Dominion.

The Conference USA title game is also scheduled for Saturday, December 5 and will mark the quite the anniversary as the league begins its 25th season of play on the gridiron.

Florida State confirms addition of FIU transfer Devontay Taylor

Florida State football
Getty Images
Leave a comment

Florida State football has officially added a current FBS player to its roster.

Late last month, Devontay Taylor announced on Twitter that he will be transferring into the Florida State football program.  Saturday, FSU confirmed the offensive lineman’s addition to the Seminoles.

Taylor had announced his transfer from Florida International in December.

As a graduate transfer, Taylor will be eligible to play immediately in 2020. The upcoming season will be his final year of eligibility.

”We are excited about the addition of Devontay Taylor into the Seminole family,” new head coach Mike Norvell said in a statement. “Devontay is a recent college graduate and will provide us a talented playmaker to the offensive line position group. He has played in 32 games throughout his collegiate career after originally signing as a 240-pound defensive lineman. Devontay will be immediately eligible and will provide great competition on the offensive front. We are looking forward to having him as part of the program.”

Taylor has started 25 of 26 games at right tackle the past two seasons for the Panthers. All told, the 6-4, 305-pound lineman played in 32 games for the Conference USA school.

In the release noting Taylor’s addition, FSU also managed to toss a bit of shade in the general direction of one of its in-state rivals:

… started at right tackle and blocked as FIU allowed zero sacks and averaged 4.7 yards per rush in 30-24 win vs. Miami …

Florida State adds another transfer, this one from FIU

Florida State football
Getty Images
1 Comment

Florida State has, once, again, added to its roster via the transfer portal.

Dec. 18, defensive end Jarrett Jackson announced his transfer from Louisville to FSU. Saturday, Texas A&M running back Jashaun Corbin confirmed the same transfer destination.

Later that same day, Devontay Taylor tweeted that he too has committed to FSU.  Two days earlier, the offensive lineman had announced his transfer from FIU.

Taylor started 25 of 26 games at right tackle the past two seasons for the Panthers. All told, the 6-4, 305-pound lineman played in 33 games for the Conference USA school.

A redshirt junior, Taylor will be eligible to play for the Seminoles in 2020 as a graduate transfer. The upcoming season will serve as the lineman’s final year of eligibility.

FIU losing starting RT, school’s leading scorer to transfer

FIU football
Getty Images
1 Comment

It was quite the personnel day Thursday for FIU football when it came to the portal. And not in a good way.

On their personal Twitter accounts HERE and HERE, both placekicker Jose Borregales (pictured) and offensive lineman Devontay Taylor announced they have entered their names into the NCAA transfer database. Both players, redshirt juniors, will exit the program as graduate transfers.

FIU’s primary kicker the past three seasons, Borregales will leave the Panthers as the school’s all-time leading scorer (281 points). The Miami native has connected on 50 of 66 field-goal attempts (75.8%) and 131 of 134 point-afters (97.8%).

Taylor has started 25 of 26 games at right tackle the past two seasons for the Panthers. All told, the 6-4, 305-pound lineman played in 33 games for the Conference USA school.

The pair’s decisions came a few days after a Camellia Bowl loss to Arkansas State.