Skip to content

Mariota, Winston among 16 Maxwell Award semifinalists

North Carolina State v Florida State Getty Images

One of the most prestigious awards in college football — arguably the most prestigious outside of the Heisman Trophy — announced its semifinalists Tuesday morning and, as expected, it’s a who’s who of the 2013 season.

Headlining the group of 16 players named as Maxwell Award semifinalists are the two who have emerged as the front-runners for this year’s Heisman, Oregon’s Marcus Mariota and Florida State’s Jameis Winston.  Additionally, Texas A&M’s Johnny Manziel, a finalist for the 2012 version of the award, is included in this year’s group.

Alabama’s AJ McCarron is the only other 2012 semifinalist represented on this year’s list.

Those four are among the 10 semifinalists who come from the quarterback position.  There are four running backs (Arizona’s Ka’Deem Carey, Wisconsin’s Melvin Gordon, Washington’s Bishop Sankey, Baylor’s Lache Seastrunk) and two wide receivers (Oregon State’s Brandin Cooks, Texas A&M’s Mike Evans) as well.

Interestingly, there are only four senior semifinalists: McCarron, Clemson’s Tajh Boyd, Fresno State’s Derek Carr and Georgia’s Aaron Murray.  There are as many sophomores — Evans, Gordon, Manziel, Mariota — as there are seniors.

Winston is the only freshman among the group of 16.

Baylor, Oregon State and Texas A&M are the only teams with more than one semifinalist.  The Pac-12 (five) and SEC (four) lead all conferences.

The Maxwell Award, handed out every year since 1937 to the nation’s best player, went to Notre Dame linebacker Manti Te’o last season.

2013 Maxwell Award Semifinalists

Permalink 1 Comment Feed for comments Latest Stories in: Alabama Crimson Tide, American Athletic Conference, Arizona Wildcats, Atlantic Coast Conference, Baylor Bears, Big 12 Conference, Big Ten Conference, Clemson Tigers, Florida State Seminoles, Fresno State Bulldogs, Georgia Bulldogs, Louisville Cardinals, Mountain West Conference, Oregon Ducks, Oregon State Beavers, Pac-12 Conference, Rumor Mill, Southeastern Conference, Texas A&M Aggies, Top Posts, Washington Huskies, Wisconsin Badgers
1 Response to “Mariota, Winston among 16 Maxwell Award semifinalists”
  1. greggatx says: Oct 29, 2013 10:44 PM

    If he finishes the season at the pace he going right now it should go to Bryce Petty. That Baylor offence is unbelievable.They will break many records.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!