Skip to content

Florida State kicker Roberto Aguayo wins Lou Groza Award

Roberto Aguayo Getty Images

Florida State kicker Roberto Aguayo joined teammates Bryan Stork and Jameis Winston in receiving some top individual honors Thursday night. Aguayo was named this year’s Lou Groza Award winner, which is represented to the top kicker in college football.

Aguayo, a freshman, converted all 90 extra point attempts this season he was called on to try, and he successfully kicked 19 of 20 field goal attempts as well. In all, Aguayo accounted for 131 points for Florida State.

Aguayoa is Florida State’s third Lou Groza Award winner in program history. First awarded in 1992, Sebastian Janikowski won back-to-back Lou Groza Awards in 1998 and 1999. Graham Gano later won a Lour Groza Award for Florida State in 2008. Tulane is the only other school with multiple Lou Groza Award winners, with two.

Aguayo beat out Texas kicker Anthony Fera and USF’s Marvin Kloss for the honor.

Permalink 4 Comments Feed for comments Latest Stories in: American Athletic Conference, Atlantic Coast Conference, Big 12 Conference, Florida State Seminoles, Rumor Mill, Texas Longhorns, Top Posts, USF Bulls
4 Responses to “Florida State kicker Roberto Aguayo wins Lou Groza Award”
  1. lsuzilla says: Dec 12, 2013 8:00 PM

    Can’t you guys out these in ONE post??

  2. Deb says: Dec 12, 2013 8:39 PM

    Well … that’s one award where Alabama wasn’t competing.

    (Okay, okay, I’m sorry. Bad joke. Terrible. Forgive me, Cade. Couldn’t resist.)

    Congrats to Aguayo!

  3. realfootballfan says: Dec 12, 2013 11:02 PM

    Janokowski Jr.

  4. eagleseagleseagles says: Dec 13, 2013 1:57 AM

    19×3=57…………57+90=147………so tell me how he has only accounted for 131 points?

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!