Skip to content

Maxwell Award watch list highlighted by Winston, Petty, Mariota

Jameis Winston

The watch list for the Maxwell Award, presented by the Maxwell Football Club, has been released and it includes many of the top offensive players in the country.

Florida State quarterback Jameis Winston was an obvious name to include on the watch list. He is the lone returning 2013 Maxwell Award finalist this season and is the reigning Heisman Trophy winner. Other 2013 semifinalists appearing on the list include Wisconsin running back Melvin Gordon, Oregon State quarterback Sean Mannion, Oregon quarterback Marcus Mariota and Baylor quarterback Bryce Petty.

Semifinalists for the Maxwell Award will be announced November 3, 2014. From that group, three finalists will be announced November 24, and the winner of the 2014 Maxwell Award will be announced December 11 during the annual Home Depot College Football Awards Show. The formal presentation of the award will take place during an annual banquet in Atlantic City, New Jersey on March 6, 2015.

The Maxwell Award has been presented to the top college football player in the country as determined by the Maxwell Football Club on an annual basis since 1937. The winner is not always the same player to win the Heisman Trophy. Where the Heisman Trophy has seen a share of underclassmen win the award over recent years, the Maxwell Award has a knack for going to upperclassmen. Last year’s winner was Alabama quarterback A.J. McCarron. Penn State and Notre Dame are tied for the most Maxwell Award winners with seven each. Ohio State, Texas and Navy each have four.

Here is the 2014 Maxwell Award watch list:


The Paul Hornung Award watch list was also released today.

Permalink 1 Comment Feed for comments Latest Stories in: Alabama Crimson Tide, American Athletic Conference, Arizona State Sun Devils, Arizona Wildcats, Arkansas State Red Wolves, Articles, Atlantic Coast Conference, Auburn Tigers, Baylor Bears, Big 12 Conference, Big Ten Conference, Boise State Broncos, Bowling Green Falcons, BYU Cougars, Cal Golden Bears, Clemson Tigers, Conference USA, Duke Blue Devils, East Carolina Pirates, Florida Gators, Florida State Seminoles, Georgia Bulldogs, Houston Cougars, Independents, Louisville Cardinals, Maryland Terrapins, Miami Hurricanes, Michigan State Spartans, Michigan Wolverines, Mid-American Conference, Mountain West Conference, Navy Midshipmen, NC State Wolfpack, Nebraska Cornhuskers, Notre Dame Fighting Irish, Oklahoma Sooners, Old Dominion Monarchs, Ole Miss Rebels, Oregon Ducks, Oregon State Beavers, Pac-12 Conference, Penn State Nittany Lions, Pittsburgh Panthers, Rumor Mill, South Carolina Gamecocks, Southeastern Conference, Stanford Cardinal, Sun Belt Conference, TCU Horned Frogs, Temple Owls, Texas Longhorns, Texas Tech Red Raiders, Top Posts, UCLA Bruins, UNLV Rebels, USC Trojans, Utah State Aggies, West Virginia Mountaineers, Wisconsin Badgers
1 Response to “Maxwell Award watch list highlighted by Winston, Petty, Mariota”
  1. dhardy8207 says: Jul 7, 2014 12:08 PM

    Jocob Coker, Alabama
    Amari Cooper, Alabama
    Derrick Henry, Alabama
    T.J Yeldon, Alabama

    CONGRATULATIONS and GOOD LUCK young men…I hope you have fabulous season!

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!